Read The 1987 Annual World's Best SF by Donald A. Wollheim Free Online

Ebook The 1987 Annual World's Best SF by Donald A. Wollheim read! Book Title: The 1987 Annual World's Best SF
The author of the book: Donald A. Wollheim
Language: English
ISBN 13: 9780879979843
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 4.23 MB
Edition: DAW
Date of issue: December 4th 1988
ISBN: 0879979844

Read full description of the books The 1987 Annual World's Best SF:


* "Introduction" (Donald A. Wollheim)
* "Permafrost" (Roger Zelazny)
* "Timerider" (Doris Egan)
* "Pretty Boy Crossover" (Pat Cadigan)
* "R & R" (Lucius Shepard)
* "Lo, How an Oak E'er Blooming" (Suzette Haden Elgin)
* "Dream in a Bottle" (Jerry Meredith and D. E. Smirl)
* "Into Gold" (Tanith Lee)
* "The Lions Are Asleep This Night" (Howard Waldrop)
* "Against Babylon" (Robert Silverberg)
* "Strangers in Paradise" (Damon Knight)

Read Ebooks by Donald A. Wollheim

Read information about the author

Ebook The 1987 Annual World's Best SF read Online! Donald Allen Wollheim was a science fiction writer, editor, publisher and fan. He published his own works under pseudonyms, including David Grinnell.

A member of the Futurians, he was one of the leading influences on the development of science fiction and science fiction fandom in the 20th century United States.

In 1937, Wollheim founded the Fantasy Amateur Press Association. The first mailing was distributed in July of that year and included this statement from Wollheim: "There are many fans desiring to put out a voice who dare not, for fear of being obliged to keep it up, and for the worry and time taken by subscriptions and advertising. It is for them and for the fan who admits it is his hobby and not his business that we formed the FAPA."

Wollheim was also a member of the New York Science Fiction League, one of the clubs established by Hugo Gernsback to promote science fiction. When Wollheim published a complaint of non-payment for stories against Gernsback, Gernsback dissolved the New York chapter of the club.

Wollheim's first story, "The Man from Ariel," was published in the January 1934 issue of Wonder Stories when Wollheim was nineteen. Wollheim was not paid for the story and when he began to look into the situation, he learned that many other authors had not been paid for their work, publishing his findings in the Bulletin of the Terrestrial Fantascience Guild. Gernsback eventually settled the case with Wollheim and other authors out of court for $75, but when Wollheim submitted another story to Gernsback, under the pseudonym "Millard Verne Gordon," he was again not paid. One of Wollheim's short stories, "Mimic" was made into the feature film of the same name, which was released in 1997.

He left Avon Books in 1952 to work for A. A. Wyn at Ace Books. In 1953 he introduced science fiction to the Ace lineup, and for 20 years edited their renowned sf list. Ace was well known for the Ace Doubles series which consisted of pairs of books, usually by different authors, bound back-to-back with two "front" covers. Because these paired books had to fit a fixed total page-length, one or both were usually heavily abridged to fit, and Wollheim often made many other editorial alterations and title changes — as witness the many differences between Poul Anderson's Ace novel War of the Wing-Men and its definitive revised edition, The Man Who Counts. It was also during the 1950s he bought the book Junk by William S. Burroughs, which, in his inimitable fashion, he retitled Junkie.

In 1965 Wollheim published an unauthorized Ace edition of The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien in three volumes — the first mass-market paperback edition of Tolkien's epic. This was done because Wollheim believed the Houghton Mifflin hardcover editions failed to properly assert copyright. In a 2006 interview, Wollheim's daughter claimed that Tolkien had angered her father by saying that his magnum opus would never be published in so ‘degenerate a form’ as the paperback book. However, Tolkien had previously authorized a paperback edition of The Hobbit in 1961, and eventually supported paperback editions of The Lord of the Rings and several of his other texts. In any case, Ace was forced to cease publishing the unauthorized edition and to pay Tolkien for their sales following a grass-roots campaign and boycott by Tolkien's U.S. fans. In 1993 a court found that the copyright loophole suggested by Ace Books was incorrect and their paperback edition found to have been a violation of Tolkien's copyright under US law.

After leaving Ace he founded DAW Books in 1971, named by his initials, which can claim to be the first mass market specialist science fiction and fantasy fiction publishing house. In later years, when his distributors, New American Library, threatened to withhold distribution of Thomas Burnett Swann's Biblical fantasy How are the Mighty Fallen (1974) because of its homosexual con

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The 1987 Annual World's Best SF

Read EBOOK The 1987 Annual World's Best SF by Donald A. Wollheim Online free

Download PDF: the-1987-annual-worlds-best-sf.pdf The 1987 Annual World's Best SF PDF